Why are Ommie™ fruit & seed energy bars different?

We are the only energy bar in the market (that we know of) that is comprised of only fruits & seeds. In a world of 'fruit & nut bars', we offer the only 'fruit & seed bar' solution, ideal for people with food allergies and sensitivities, and a great alternative for those interested in a different alternative to complement their diet.

Also, Ommie™ fruit & seed energy bars are free of animal products (no honey, no eggs, no dairy) and free of soy and wheat, making it an ideal solution for people on special diets.


What is the difference between and energy bar and a protein bar?

Most bars in the market fall into the following categories:

    • Protein bars: These are designed to help you gain muscle mass. Usually made from added protein sources like whey concentrate or pea protein they tend to have somewhat of a 'chalky' taste and texture. Unfortunately, in most cases, protein bars falls closer to chemically engineered edible-food-like-substances, not actual food.  In many instances, protein bars mask the huge amount of saturated fat, sugar and artificial ingredients with a high protein count. When compared to a chocolate candy bar (sans the protein) they look very similar.

    • Energy bars:   These are primarily designed to be eaten before a long workout or to prolong energy during daily outdoor activities. The ingredient core is typically made from a combo of fruits, nuts, seeds and grains. While less egregious than protein bars, most energy bars are loaded with added sugars and fats, artificial ingredients and fillers, fruit purees and concentrates, which can wreck your diet and leave you sluggish. Just spot the first 3-4 ingredients on the nutrition label. Most start with liquid ingredients (sweeteners like syrup, honey, nectar and fats like oils, butter, lecithin) to bind together the dry ingredients (grains, fruit and nuts). Always read the ingredient panel so you can make a well informed decision.

There are a few energy bars in the market that can act as a superfood, and infuse your body with nutrition. Ommie™ snack bars is a great option. Made with 90% dried fruits, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds, our bars are wholesome and allergy-friendly, nutritious, delicious and all-natural.


Why fruits and seeds?

Our blend of sunflower and pumpkin seeds are allergy friendly and provide a crunch & nutritious base with healthy plant-based protein and healthy fats. Our dried fruits provide delicious flavor variety and a burst of energy. On average, our bars are 90% dried fruits & seeds with some natural spices like ground cinnamon, cardamom and coffee, soy-free carob powder, soy-free semi-sweet chocolate chips, natural extracts, and poppy seeds. We do add a tiny bit of organic coconut butter, organic brown rice syrup and organic sea salt to enhance the flavor profile of our bars, and to maintain an appropriate ph level that naturally extends the shelf life of our bars.


Are your products organic?

We use some organic ingredients like coconut butter, brown rice syrup and sea salt. All of our ingredients are all-natural and free of chemicals and preservatives. At our current size, to keep your prices attractive it is currently not feasible to use organic ingredients throughout. 


Are your products certified gluten free, non-gmo, dairy-free?

All our bars were formulated to be naturally free of nuts, tree nuts, soy, eggs, dairy, wheat. Because we are currently producing under Minnesota Cottage Food Law were are not required to be licensed. As our business grows with your support it is our goal to get the non-GMO certification, and move into an allergy-free commercial kitchen.


Where do your ingredients come from?

It is very important to us to help support our local economy. That is why we source our fruits and seeds, as well as our natural extracts from locally-based Minnesota companies.


Where are your products made?

Under Minnesota Cottage Food Law we are approved to produce our Ommie™ bars in our home kitchen. As we scale, we will move into a commercial kitchen where we can increase our volume to keep up with demand.


Are your products nut-free, soy-free, egg-free, dairy-free, gluten-free?

While our company does not currently make allergy-free label claims, none of the ingredients in our products are derived from nuts, tree nuts, soy, egg, dairy, wheat or gluten. As our business expands we plan to move into a gluten-free commercial kitchen and will apply for the necessary allergy-free certifications.


Your product includes Coconut. Is it safe for people with allergies?

The American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI) states: “Coconut is not a botanical nut; it is classified as a fruit, even though the Food and Drug Administration recognizes coconut as a tree nut. While allergic reactions to coconut have been documented, most people who are allergic to tree nuts can safely eat coconut. If you are allergic to tree nuts, talk to your allergist before adding coconut to your diet."


Are your products vegan?

All our energy bars are vegan and vegetarian. They don't contain any animal products such as honey, eggs, or dairy.


What is the shelf life of your product?

Our bars are best enjoyed within the first 6-8 months after being produced. While we use ingredients that enjoy a natural long shelf-life (dried fruits, raw and unsalted seeds, natural spices) we use a multi-layer mylar package that keeps out UV light which, in turn, maintains freshness without the use of preservatives.


Will your bars freeze or melt?

If placed in the freezer or outside in cold temperatures, Ommie™ bars will become firmer, but will not freeze. Similarly, they will not melt when heated. However, to preserve product quality we recommend that you store your Ommie™ bars in a cool area.


What does Ommie™ mean?

Ommie™ comes from the sanskrit word 'Om', a spiritual mantra used by many as a tool for meditation and introspection. While it has many meanings, we apply its significance to the union of the mind-body-soul trinity. In today's busy and often superficial world, cultivating  awareness and living mindfully is a habit that brings tremendous benefits. Meditation is THE tool to renew our mind, body heart and soul, and to learn to live in peace and harmony with ourselves and those around us.


added to cart success.

added to wishlist success.



Sold Out